Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Front PageFront Page  HomeHome  SearchSearch  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  
Due to lack of activity I have chosen to close this forum thank-you for the ride it was a blast when it was here. DreamHrt

Taylor Hicks is a true artist

Go down 
3 posters
AuthorMessage
DreamHrt
Administrator

Female
Number of posts : 4528
Registration date : 2007-08-06

Taylor Hicks is a true artist Empty
PostSubject: Taylor Hicks is a true artist   Taylor Hicks is a true artist Icon_minitimeMon Mar 03, 2008 10:54 pm

must confess, dear readers, that I am not enamored with the American Idol phenomenon. I used to work in the music business (managed a mid-level rock band, I'd rather not mention names) and I just never thought Idol was more than amateur hour.

Taylor Hicks intrigued me, however, because he couldn't fit the American Idol paradigm less if he tried. He stands out - for all the right reasons. His voice has a gruff, lived-in quality that perfectly suits the material he obviously loves. He possess an intense, focused stage presence - when he sings a song, he truly means it. Friends of mine sold me on Mr. Hicks via early recordings he released independently prior to his victorious run on Idol. Anyone who has doubts about his artistic validity needs to check out his stirring performance of "Georgia On My Mind" (the closing track on his first independent release, "In Your Time"). Throughout it's 7-minute-plus duration, Mr. Hicks displays a truly impressive array of emotion and power. His 2005 CD, "Under the Radar," is even better - seven original songs that demonstrate a lot of songwriting maturity from 1997's "In Your Time."